Jutta Deuschl 1973-2021

In Memoriam: Jutta Deuschl – 1973-2021

Some people come into our lives, leave footprints in our hearts and minds and we are never the same again. – Jared Leto 

Jutta Deuschl passed away on the morning of 19 January 2021 after a long illness at the age of 47. Regatta München e.V. and all members of the regatta team mourn the loss of their dedicated board member and a great sportswoman.

Rowing career

Jutta’s path as the daughter of the rowing enthusiast Schausten family led her directly into the rowing boat of the Mühlheimer Ruder-Gesellschaft in the 1980s. In the 1990s, she was successful at German championships, World Cups and World Championships. At the 1995 World Championships in Tampere, she won the bronze medal in the Lightweight Coxless Four. She also competed at the World Championships in 1996 and 1997, in 1997 in the Lightweight Pair with Cora Zillich.

Her friend Cora Zillich remembers the training time together with coach Stefan Piesik and Karin Stephan: “We didn’t eat much, but Kinder Chocolate, lots of fun, many countries, many successes but also many blisters and a lot of sweat and one or two disappointments were on board.” Their best race together, says Cora, “was perhaps the 1997 German Championships in Duisburg. As lightweights, we raced with the heavyweights and finished on the podium in the women’s double sculls. Every 250 m Jutta announced a spurt. I’m still sweating in my mind today. At the same time, it was one of my most intense and best races with Jutta.”

The two rowers have shared a lot: Laughter, crying, the focus on common goals as well as a deep friendship. “We stayed in touch – in and out of the boat.” Together, they continued to take part in international regattas such as the Head of the River in London after their time in the national team. The Lightweight Eights and the participations in Boston and Philadelphia were unforgettable for both, which gave rise to numerous rowing friendships around the globe.

But Jutta was not only successful on the water, but also on land. As Managing Director, she headed the Munich branch of the international PR agency LEWIS. She remained faithful to the sport of rowing on the water, first in the Münchner Rudergesellschaft 1972 and then in the Münchener Ruder-Club of 1880, and on land in an honorary capacity with the Olympia-Regattaverein München and until recently with Regatta München.

Board of Directors in the Regatta Association

Jutta’s board colleague Oliver Bettzieche remembers: “I met Jutta in 2007. Together we were involved in Jörg Reinhardt’s team at the World Rowing Championships in Oberschleissheim. At that time, we already formed what would later become the Board team for Regatta München. Subsequently, we could always be found together in the regatta office at the World Cups until 2012. Even then, we were united by the desire for a perfectly orchestrated implementation of the events.” Regatta München e.V. was newly established at the end of 2013/at the beginning of 2014. “At that time, I was looking for a ‘partner in crime’ to form the future Board of the regatta association,” explains Oliver. “Jutta was the only one who wanted to take this risk with a rookie like me in December 2013. After a short period of reflection, she agreed. It was to be seven great years together. We had an ambitious plan. After quite a few international and national regattas, including three Euro Masters Regattas alone, we were successfully bidding for two international World Rowing events in 2019. We were flying high in the regatta Olympus.”

Jutta Deuschl was the spokesperson, the linguistic soul of our regatta association and the guardian of our communication. But Jutta was much more than that. Jutta was our diplomatic, balancing component. Jutta has spent thousands of hours over the years working for regattas and the regatta centre in Munich, promoting our cause at home and abroad. She was internationally cherished in the Masters community as both a determined rower and a perfect and charming hostess of the Euro Masters Regatta. “While she spent months preparing the regatta with the team, she never neglected her rowing training. After all, she didn’t just want to organise a regatta, she also wanted to win races. Jutta was a real role model in that respect,” recalls Jörg Reinhardt, Vice-President of Regatta München.

Voices

“Her statement was intellectual, imbued with her personality,” Prof. Klaus Ulbrich, Honorary Chairman of the Bavarian Rowing Association and Honorary President in the OC of the European Rowing Junior Championships 2021, enthuses —and not without reason. “Through her commitment at the most diverse regattas, she has made a great contribution to youth work in our sport,” affirms Sebastian Haase from the board of the German Rowing Youth and member of the Munich regatta staff. “In her warm and open manner, Jutta contributed significantly to the fact that I immediately felt comfortable in the team and after the regatta I was eagerly looking forward to the next one,” recalls Luis Heiß of the regatta team. Magdalena Prantl, Jutta’s colleague in sponsoring, “would describe her as a realist who kept us in mind at the end of the day why we are doing this and what is most important. Her ‘hands-on’ mentality and pragmatism were perfectly complemented by her ease and openness.” Jutta was an integral part of the team. Lukas Abelt, Head of the Regatta Office: “Jutta was always friendly yet strong and always focused on her current goal.” She was omnipresent and was able to assert her ideas in a balancing but impressive way.

The fight against cancer

In the last four years, Jutta fought a tough battle against a powerful opponent at the same time — unnoticed by many and way beyond the sport. Often the cancer was ahead, but Jutta increased the stroke rate, caught up and won some races against the cancer. Jutta fought with the same determination as in competitive sports, the same strength and willpower, immense energy and admirable stamina. She never lost sight of the goal.

“Jutta fought courageously for her life. At the same time, she worked with all of us throughout 2020 to save our 2020 events, which were threatened by the Corona pandemic, and to prepare us for the 2021 European Rowing Junior Championships, simply admirable,” Oliver recalls. Everyone was keeping their fingers crossed for Jutta and hoping for the best. The forecast was good at times. But the races were increasingly unfair towards the end, with constant squalls and race extensions. Jutta was strong. Jutta was brave. Jutta had an incredible fighting spirit. As late as the beginning of December 2020, she gave an interview to Bavarian television at the regatta centre. Jutta was simply Jutta. And Jutta loved rowing.

“I let go, but I didn’t give up,” Jutta told her friend Cora shortly before her death.

Thank you, dear Jutta, for sharing so much with us. Thank you for leaving such a deep mark on so many hearts. We miss you.

“The legs were getting heavier and heavier, then a wind came and took her away!”

Our heartfelt condolences go to her husband Thomas, her entire family and all her friends.

Jutta Deuschl 1973-2021

In Memoriam: Jutta Deuschl – 1973-2021

Some people come into our lives, leave footprints in our hearts and minds and we are never the same again. – Jared Leto 

Jutta Deuschl ist am Morgen des 19. Januar 2021 nach langer Krankheit im Alter von 47 Jahren verstorben. Regatta München e.V. und alle Mitglieder des Regattateams trauern um ihr engagiertes Vorstandsmitglied und eine großartige Sportsfrau.

Ruderkarriere

Juttas Kinderschuhe führten sie in den 1980er Jahren als Tochter der ruderbegeisterten Familie Schausten direkt ins Ruderboot der Mühlheimer Ruder-Gesellschaft. In den 90er Jahren war sie auf Deutschen Meisterschaften, Weltcups und Weltmeisterschaften erfolgreich. Bei der WM 1995 in Tampere gewann sie im leichten Vierer-ohne die Bronze-Medaille. Auch 1996 und 1997 war sie bei der WM dabei, 1997 im leichten Zweier-ohne mit Cora Zillich.

Ihre Freundin Cora Zillich erinnert sich an die gemeinsame Trainingszeit mit Trainer Stefan Piesik und Karin Stephan: „Viel gegessen haben wir nicht, aber Kinderschokolade, viel Spaß, viele Länder, viele Erfolge aber auch viele Blasen und eine Menge Schweiß und auch die eine oder andere Enttäuschung waren mit an Bord.“ Ihr bestes gemeinsames Rennen, so Cora, „war vielleicht die Deutsche Meisterschaft 1997 in Duisburg. Wir sind als Leichte bei den Schweren ganz vorne mitgefahren und kamen im Frauen Zweier-ohne aufs Podium. Alle 250 m hat Jutta einen Spurt angesagt. Ich schwitze in Gedanken heute noch. Gleichzeitig war es eines meiner intensivsten und besten Rennen mit Jutta.“

Die beiden Ruderinnen haben viel geteilt: Lachen, Weinen, die Konzentration auf die gemeinsamen Ziele ebenso wie eine tiefe Freundschaft. „Wir blieben uns weiter verbunden – im Boot und außerhalb.“ Gemeinsam nahmen sie nach der Zeit in der Nationalmannschaft weiter an internationalen Regatten wie dem Head of the River in London teil. Unvergesslich sind beiden die leichten Achter und die Teilnahmen in Boston und Philadelphia gewesen, die zahlreiche Ruderfreundschaften rund um den Globus entstehen ließen.

Aber nicht nur auf dem Wasser, sondern auch an Land war Jutta erfolgreich. Sie leitete als Managing Director die Münchner Niederlassung der internationalen PR-Agentur LEWIS. Dem Rudersport blieb sie auf dem Wasser zunächst in der Rudergesellschaft München 1972 und anschließend im Münchener Ruder-Club von 1880 und an Land im Ehrenamt beim Olympia-Regattaverein München und bis zuletzt bei Regatta München treu.

Vorstand im Regattaverband

Juttas Vorstandskollege Oliver Bettzieche erinnert sich: „2007 lernte ich Jutta kennen. Gemeinsam engagierten wir uns bei der Ruder-WM in Oberschleißheim im Team von Jörg Reinhardt. Damals fand sich also schon das spätere Vorstandsteam für Regatta München. In der Folge waren wir bei den Weltcups bis 2012 immer wieder gemeinsam im Regattabüro zu finden. Uns verband schon damals der Wunsch nach einer perfekt orchestrierten Umsetzung der Events.“ Ende 2013/Anfang 2014 gründete sich Regatta München e.V. neu. „Ich war damals auf der Suche nach einem ,Partner in Crime‘, um den künftigen Vereinsvorstand zu bilden“, erklärt Oliver Bettzieche. „Jutta war im Dezember 2013 die Einzige, die dieses Wagnis mit einem Rookie wie mir wagen wollte. Nach kurzer Bedenkzeit sagte sie zu. Sieben gemeinsam großartige Jahre sollten es werden. Wir hatten viel vor. Und wir hatten einen ehrgeizigen Plan. Nach etlichen internationalen und nationalen Regatten, davon allein drei Euro Masters Regatten, haben wir uns 2019 erfolgreich um zwei internationale World Rowing-Events beworben. Wir schwebten im Regatta-Olymp.“

Jutta Deuschl war die Wortgeberin, die sprachliche Seele unseres Vereins und die Wächterin über unsere Kommunikation. Aber Jutta war noch viel mehr. Jutta war unsere diplomatische, ausgleichende Komponente. Jutta hat in den letzten Jahren Tausende von Stunden für Regatten und die Regattastrecke in München gearbeitet und im In- und Ausland für unsere Sache geworben. In der Masters-Community war sie sowohl als entschlossene Ruderin als auch perfekte und charmante Gastgeberin der Euro Masters Regatta international bekannt. „Während sie mit dem Team die Regatta monatelang vorbereitete, vernachlässigte sie nie ihr Rudertraining. Schließlich wollte sie eine Regatta nicht nur organisieren, sondern auch Rennen gewinnen. Jutta war da ein echtes Vorbild“, erinnert sich Jörg Reinhardt, Finanzvorstand von Regatta München. 

Stimmen

„Ihr Statement war intellektuell, von ihrer Persönlichkeit durchdrungen“, gerät der Ehrenvorsitzende des Bayerischen Ruderverbands und Ehrenpräsident im OK der European Rowing Junior Championships 2021, Prof. Klaus Ulbrich, nicht ohne Grund ins Schwärmen. „Durch ihren Einsatz auf den unterschiedlichsten Regatten hat sie einen großen Beitrag für die Jugendarbeit in unserem Sport geleistet“, bekräftigt Sebastian Haase aus dem Vorstand der Deutschen Ruderjugend und Mitglied des Münchner Regattastabs.

„In ihrer herzlichen und offenen Art hat Jutta wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass ich mich im Verein sofort wohl gefühlt habe und nach der Regatta direkt wieder der Nächsten entgegen fieberte“, erinnert sich Luis Heiß aus dem Regattateam. Magdalena Prantl, Juttas Kollegin im Sponsoring, „würde sie als Realistin beschreiben, die uns am Ende des Tages vor Augen gehalten hat, warum wir das machen und was am wichtigsten ist. Ihre ,Hands-On‘-Mentalität und ihr Pragmatismus wurden perfekt durch ihre Leichtigkeit und Offenheit ergänzt.“ Jutta war ein integraler Bestandteil des Teams. Lukas Abelt, Leiter des Regattabüros: „Jutta war stets freundlich und dennoch stark und immer auf ihr aktuelles Ziel fokussiert.“ Sie war präsent und konnte sich auf ausgleichende, aber eindrückliche Art mit ihren Vorstellungen durchsetzen.

Kampf gegen den Krebs

In den letzten vier Jahren kämpfte Jutta gleichzeitig – von vielen unbemerkt und fern vom Sport –einen harten Kampf gegen einen mächtigen Gegner. Oft lag der Krebs um eine Luftkastenlänge voraus, doch Jutta erhöhte die Schlagzahl, holte auf und gewann auch einige Rennen gegen den „Scheißkrebs“ (Cora, du weißt, wovon du sprichst). Gekämpft hat Jutta mit der gleichen Entschlossenheit wie früher im Leistungssport, der gleichen Stärke und Willenskraft, immenser Energie und einem bewundernswerten Durchhaltevermögen. Niemals hat sie dabei das Ziel aus den Augen verloren.

„Jutta kämpfte beherzt um ihr Leben. Gleichzeitig arbeitete sie das ganze Jahr 2020 über mit uns allen daran, unsere von der Corona-Pandemie bedrohten Events 2020 zu retten und uns auf die EM 2021 vorzubereiten, einfach bewundernswert“, erinnert sich Oliver. Alle drückten Jutta die Daumen und hofften auf das Beste. Die Prognose war zeitweise gut Aber die Rennen waren gegen Ende zunehmend unfair, mit ständigen Sturmböen und Streckenverlängerungen. Jutta war stark. Jutta war tapfer. Jutta hatte eine unglaubliche Kämpferseele. Noch Anfang Dezember 2020 gab sie dem Bayerischen Fernsehen ein Interview an der Regattastrecke. Jutta war einfach Jutta. Und Jutta liebte den Rudersport.

„Ich habe losgelassen, aber nicht aufgegeben“, sagte Jutta ihrer Freundin Cora kurz vor ihrem Tod.

Danke, liebe Jutta, dass du so vieles mit uns geteilt hast. Danke, dass du auf so vielen Herzen so tiefe Spuren hinterlassen hast. Wir vermissen Dich.

„Die Beine wurden immer schwerer, da kam ein Wind und nahm sie mit!“

Unser herzliches Beileid gilt ihrem Mann Thomas, ihrer gesamten Familie und all ihren Freundinnen und Freunden.